Young Playwrights' Theater inspires young people to realize the power of their own voices.

Audition Notice

Three Cheers to Grace (Non-Equity, Paid)

Auditions for YPT'S THREE CHEERS TO GRACE (Non-Equity, Paid)

THREE CHEERS TO GRACE

Directed by Eric Ruffin

Produced by Young Playwrights' Theater (YPT)

Friday, February 22 - Sunday, March 4, 2019 at Dance Loft on 14 (4618 14th St NW, Washington, DC 20011)

 

Auditions (at YPT, 2437 15th Street, NW, 3rd Floor, Washington, DC 20009):

Monday, November 12, 2018, from 6 - 9:30 pm (10-minute slots)

Wednesday, November 14, 2018, from 6 - 9:30 pm (10-minute slots)

*Actors will be sent sides to prepare beforehand

 

Callbacks (at YPT):

Monday, November 26, 2018, from 6 - 9:30 pm

 

Rehearsals (at a metro-accessible location in Washington, DC):

Monday, January 14 - Thursday, February 14, 2019

·Mondays - Fridays from 6 - 10 pm

·Saturdays from 11 am - 5 pm or 12 - 6 pm

 

Tech (at Dance Loft on 14):

Saturday, February 16, 2019: 10 of 12

Sunday, February 17, 2019: 8 of 10

Tuesday, February 19 & Wednesday, February 20, 2019, from 6 - 10 pm: Dress Rehearsals

Thursday, February 21, 2019, at 8 pm: Preview

 

Performances (at Dance Loft on 14):

Friday, February 22, 2019, at 8 pm

Saturday, February 23, 2019, at 3 pm & 8 pm

Sunday, February 24, 2019, at 7 pm

Tuesday, February 26, 2019, at 11 am (student matinee)

Wednesday, February 27, 2019, at 11 am (student matinee)

Thursday, February 28, 2019, at 11 am (student matinee) & 8 pm

Friday, March 1, 2019, at 8 pm

Saturday, March 2, 2019, at 3 pm & 8 pm

Sunday, March 3, 2019, at 7 pm

 

About the Play

After waking from a coma following a tragic car accident, Eliza becomes devoted to her hospitalized best friend, Grace, who remains comatose. But as time goes by, Eliza must come to terms with Grace’s condition, the truth of the accident and her own coming of age, while Grace must watch the world move around her, unable to speak, but with so much that needs to be said.

 

This is YPT’s first-ever two-week long production of a full-length student-written play. YPT is proud to present the work of playwright Josie Walyus, currently a sophomore at H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program in Arlington, VA.

 

Character Breakdown

(NOTE: for teenaged characters, we are seeking adult actors who can convincingly play teens rather than child actors)

 

ELIZA: A 15-year-old car crash survivor; athletic and witty; ANY RACE.

 

GRACE: A 14-year-old, unconscious, comatose hospital patient who reacts to the conversations going on around her; sarcastic and moves well; ANY RACE.

 

NURSE ROSE: Pediatric nurse and mother of DANTE; speaks a little bit of Spanish; 35 - 50; LATINA or AFRO-LATINA.

 

DANTE: A 16-year-old close friend of ELIZA and NURSE ROSE’s son; the comedic relief throughout the play; LATINO or AFRO-LATINO.

 

MARIA: A 14-year-old friend of ELIZA, JAMIE, and GRACE; sensitive and self-involved; ANY RACE.

 

JAMIE: A 14-year-old friend of ELIZA, MARIA, and GRACE; outspoken and the voice of reason; ANY RACE.

 

LILLIANA SMITH: ELIZA and CAROLINE's mother; pushy and persistent; 40 - 50; ANY RACE.

 

GERALD SMITH: ELIZA and CAROLINE's father; a former runner who has withdrawn from his family; 40 - 50; ANY RACE.

 

CAROLINE: ELIZA’s 13-year-old younger sister; sensitive and obsessed with wearing crop tops and drinking Starbucks; ANY RACE.

 

DR. ALEX HINES: Neurologist working with ELIZA and GRACE; 35 - 60; ANY RACE OR GENDER.

 

BRITNEY RAIMOND: GRACE’s mother; Southern, dramatic and describes herself as "200 pounds of love"; 40 - 50; ANY RACE.

 

To submit, email casting@yptdc.org and include:

·Your headshot and resume

·The role you are submitting for

·Your preferred audition date(s) and time(s)

·Your availability to act in a workshop reading with the playwright on Saturday, November 17 from 11 am - 2 pm at YPT